MPAS

Project name:

MPAS

Industry:

Pharmaceutical

Customer:

Honeywell GmbH Offenbach / BBraun Melsungen

Requirement:

As part of the project Life-N at the BBraun company in Melsungen the MES “PAS-X Pharma” from the Werum company had to be coupled with the distributed control system (DCS) “Experion PKS” from the Honeywell company for data technical purposes. The DCS is equipped with a recipe system called “Experion Batch Manager (EBM)”. DCS steps in the manufacturing intructions should provide recipes in the DCS with parameters. Report parameters and status information were to be transmitted from the DCS into the MES. The commands for starting, stopping, etc. of the batches were to be transferred from the MES into the DCS.

Realization:

An interface software called MPAS (MES-PLSASchnittstelle) has been developed with C# from Microsoft. This software, realized as a Windows Service in Visual Studio 2008. NET, serves as a bidirectional link between the MES and the DCS. The data exchange is carried out by MES using XML messages that are read from an Oracle 11g database (data type CLOB). The communication in the direction of the DCS is done using the programming interface NET.API from the Honeywell company.

Through a dynamic message processing by MPAS and configuration of so-called mapping lists in XML format, a change of the data path between MES and DCS are carried out without the need of programming-technical customizing of software. To realize this dynamic, the newest Microsft technologies like “LINQ” and “LAMBDA expressions” have been used during the development.

Via telegram schemes (XSD files), the created and readed XML-telegrams will be validated before they are processed via the interface.
The software is additionally secured with an activity list in XML format, in which all actions are cached, so that the last state can be restored after a failure of an interface.

In case of a failure of the communication path, the interface service saves the XML-telegrams locally and processes these directly after regaining of connectivity.

Via the user interface “MPAS display” all kinds of reports and the status of the interface are shown.

Used tools:

  • Windows Service in C# .NET Visual Studio 2008 with Framework 3.5
  • XML-telegrams for bidirectional information- and data exchange to the MES
  • Connection to the DCS via programming interface NET.API
  • Used programming techniques like „LINQ“ and „LAMBDA Expressions“

Summary:

  • Interface between MES and DCS
  • Advantage: Dynamically via software architecture with mapping lists
  • Backup via activity list in XML format
  • „MPAS-Display“ as user interface of the interface

MPAS

Projektbezeichnung:

MPAS

Branche:

Pharma

Kunde:

Honeywell GmbH Offenbach / BBraun Melsungen

Anforderung:

Im Rahmen des Projektes Life-N bei der Firma BBraun in Melsungen ist das MES „PAS-X Pharma“ der Fa. Werum mit dem Prozessleitsystem (PLS) Experion PKS der Fa. Honeywell zu datentechnisch zu koppeln. Das PLS verfügt über ein Rezeptursystem „Experion Batch Manager (EBM)“. PLS-Arbeitsschritte in den Herstellanweisungen sollen Rezepte im PLS mit Parametern versorgen. Reportparameter und Status-Informationen sollen aus dem PLS in das MES übertragen werden. Die Kommandos zum Starten, Stoppen etc. der Batches sollen aus dem MES in das PLS übertragen werden.

Realisierung:

Es wurde eine Schnittstellensoftware namens MPAS (MES-PLSA-Schnittstelle) mit C# von Microsoft entwickelt. Diese Software, realisiert als Windows-Service in Visual Studio 2008 .NET, dient als bidirektionales Bindeglied zwischen dem MES und dem PLS. Der Datenaustausch seitens MES wird mittels XML-Telegrammen, die aus einer Oracle 11g Datenbank (Datentyp CLOB) gelesen werden, realisiert. Die Kommunikation in Richtung des PLS geschieht über die Programmierschnittstelle NET.API der Firma Honeywell.

Durch eine dynamische Telegrammverarbeitung seitens MPAS und über Konfiguration sogenannter Mappinglisten im XML-Format, kann eine Änderung des Datenweges zwischen MES und PLS durchgeführt werden ohne die Software programmiertechnisch anpassen zu müssen. Um diese Dynamik realisieren zu können, wurden bei der Entwicklung die neuesten Microsoft Techniken wie „LINQ“ und „LAMBDA Expressions“ verwendet.

Über Telegrammschemas (XSD Dateien) werden die gelesenen und erstellten XML-Telegramme validiert bevor sie von der Schnittstelle weiter verarbeitet werden.
Die Software ist zusätzlich mit einer Activityliste im XML-Format abgesichert, in der alle Aktionen zwischengespeichert werden, so dass auch nach einem Ausfall der Schnittstelle der letzte Stand ohne Datenverlust hergestellt werden kann.

Beim Ausfall eines Kommunikationswegs speichert der Schnittstellenservice die XML-Telegramme lokal und verarbeitet diese direkt nach Wiedererlangen der Konnektivität.

Über das User-Interface „MPAS-Display“ werden Meldungen aller Art und der Status der Schnittstelle dargestellt.

Verwendete Werkzeuge:

  • Windows Service in C# .NET Visual Studio 2008 mit Framework 3.5
  • XML-Telegramme zum bidirektionalen Informations-/Datenaustausch zum MES
  • Anbindung an das PLS über Programmierschnittstelle NET.API
  • Verwendete Programmiertechniken wie „LINQ“ und „LAMBDA Expressions“

Zusammenfassung:

  • Schnittstelle zwischen MES und PLS
  • Vorteil: Dynamisch über Softwarearchitektur mit Mappinglisten
  • Sicherung über Activityliste im XML-Format
  • „MPAS-Display“ als User Interface der Schnittstelle