References

Project name:

Integration of the software solution PILOT [TPM] (formerly: PMSCADA) from Felten Group on process data acquisition (PDA) in the field of pharmaceutical packaging.

Field:

Pharmaceutical

Customer:

Boehringer Ingelheim Pharma GmbH & Co. KG, Ingelheim

Requirement:

Introduction of a computerized system for automatic acquisition of process data (PDA) of the production and packaging plants for the generation of KPIs and implementation of analyzes to optimize the plants and processes. Validation of the system is not required.

Realization:

The software product PMSCADA from the Felten Group will be integrated as a PDA system in the existing IT infrastructure at the location Ingelheim.

The system records directly and constantly operating conditions, incidents, counts and process data of currently about 60 connected local machines. The machinery and plants at the production lines / facilities are automated with PLC (programmable logic controllers) from different manufacturers. The data interface is OPC DA. OPC DA has been defined as standard interface. Updates or changes were needed at all PLCs, which implemented the respective machine suppliers according to their specially created interface specification.

Parallel to the machine data acquisition, further information about line status via web interface on touch PCs can be dropped to the system as well as tasks can be started and stopped, to implement data evaluation not only via freely selectable time ranges, but also via driven tasks (identification about task numbers). The task administration is synchronized over a file interface with SAP.

Information: The grayed areas in the pictures below shall save company secrets.

BDE terminal status

BDE terminal task“

The PDA system represents the current line state (order data, meter readings set/actual, faults) on large text displays (42 “LCD monitors with integrated PC) at the packaging lines. There are also summarized group views, which can show the status of all lines of a building.

Line state on large text display

Overview of several lines

The user interacts via a web interface with the system so that the system is accessible from any PC workstation on campus. The PDA system has its own user management. The creation of users as well as the authentication with password occurs over a LDAP alignment. In addition, there is a rights administration to summarize user to groups with the same powers (functions, which are not visible or controlable).

WEB Frontend

The users of the system can access a variety of configurable reports on production lines or individual machines or systems. This can be executed manually or cyclically automated. Here it is possible to receive the evaluation, like downtime- or failure analysis, per e-mail or to send it to a network printer at fixed time points. This allows a user for example, to inform himself in the morning at service beginning about the state of the plant in the last twelve hours.

At the location Ingelheim, the trend module [TM] has been integrated, which makes it possible to present the captured process data (temperature, pressure, count values…) in freely configurable y(t)-diagrams and to use this data for evaluation and comparison.

The data is stored in a file structure (ring storage) on the server; Sample rate and retention period are configurable for each reading.

Used tools:

  • A distributed computer system on virtualized VMWare server with Windows 2003 Server
  • Web server
  • Application server
  • miscellaneous OPC server
  • Hardware in the production environment as a web client

Advantages:

  • State of a production line or of whole areas at a glance
  • Generation of codes for tasks
  • Evaluation for workload of lines / downtimes / failures / MTTR / MTBF …
  • Pharmaceutical labeling of lines
  • Optimization of production plants => Efficiency increase
  • Minimization of plant downtimes => Workload increase
  • Analysis of production processes and subsequent comparison through trend management
  • Alarming for violation of limited values
  • Hardware and software centralized in datacenter, no interfaces and gateways
  • Extendable concept (modular system with standardized interfaces)

Referenzen

Projektbezeichnung:

Integration der Softwarelösung PILOT [TPM] (Vormals: PMSCADA) der Fa. Felten-Group zur Betriebsdaten- erfassung (BDE) im Bereich der Pharma-Verpackung.

Branche:

Pharma

Kunde:

Boehringer Ingelheim Pharma GmbH & Co. KG, Ingelheim

Anforderung:

Einführung eines computerisierten Systems zur automatischen Erfassung von Betriebsdaten (BDE) der Produktions- und Verpackungsanlagen zur Generierung von KPI und Durchführung von Analysen zur Optimierung der Anlagen und Prozesse. Das System ist nicht validierungspflichtig.

Realisierung:

Das Software-Produkt PMSCADA der Felten-Group wird als BDE-System in die bestehende IT-Infrastruktur am Standort Ingelheim integriert.

Das System erfasst direkt und ständig Betriebszustände, Störungen, Zählwerte und Prozessdaten der zurzeit ca. 60 angebundenen Maschinen. Die Maschinen und Anlagen an den Produktionslinien / -stätten sind mit SPS (speicherprogrammierbaren Steuerungen) verschiedener Hersteller automatisiert. Die Datenschnittstelle ist OPC DA. OPC DA wurde als Standard-Schnittstelle definiert. Dazu waren Updates bzw. Änderungen auf allen SPS notwendig, die die jeweiligen Maschinen-Lieferanten anhand einer eigens erstellen Schnitt- stellenspezifikation umgesetzt haben.

Parallel zur Maschinendatenerfassung können über das Web-Interface an Touch-PCs weitere Informationen zum Linienstatus an das System abgesetzt werden sowie Aufträge gestartet und beendet werden, um Auswertungen der Daten nicht nur über frei wählbare Zeiträume sondern auch über gefahrene Aufträge (Identifikation über Auftragsnummern) durchführen zu können. Die Auftragsverwaltung ist über eine File- Schnittstelle mit SAP synchronisiert.

Info: Die ausgegrauten Flächen in den folgenden Bildern dienen zum Schutz des Firmengeheimnisses!

BDE Terminal Status

BDE Terminal Auftrag

Das BDE-System stellt den aktuellen Linienzustand (Auftragsdaten, Zählerstände soll / ist, Störungen) auf Großtextanzeigen (42“ LCD-Monitore mit integrierten PCs) an den Verpackungs-Linien dar. Daneben existieren zusammengefasste Gruppenanzeigen, die z.B. den Zustand aller Linien eines Gebäudes anzeigen können.

Linienzustand auf Großtextanzeige

Übersicht über mehrere Linien

Der Benutzer interagiert über ein Web-Interface mit dem System, so daß das System von jedem Arbeitsplatz-PC auf dem Campus zugänglich ist. Das BDE-System verfügt über eine eigene Benutzerverwaltung. Das Anlegen von Benutzern sowie die Authentifizierung mittels Passwort erfolgen über einen LDAP-Abgleich. Weiter gibt es eine Rechteverwaltung, um Benutzer zu Gruppen gleicher Befugnisse (also Funktionen, die sicht- oder bedienbar sind) zusammenzufassen.

WEB Frontend

WEB Frontend

Die Anwender des Systems können eine Vielzahl konfigurierbarer Reports über Produktionslinien oder einzelne Maschinen oder Anlagen abrufen. Dies kann manuell angestoßen werden oder zyklisch automatisiert geschehen. Hier ist es möglich die Auswertungen wie z.B. Stillstands- oder Störungs- analysen zu festen Zeitpunkten per E-Mail zu erhalten oder an einen Netzwerkdrucker zu senden. Damit ist es einem Benutzer z.B. möglich, sich morgens zu Dienstbeginn über den Anlagenzustand der letzten 12 Stunden zu informieren.

Am Standort Ingelheim wurde zusätzlich das Trendmodul [TM] integriert, das es ermöglicht, die erfassten Prozessdaten (Temperaturen, Drücke, Zählwerte…) in frei konfigurierbaren y(t)- Diagrammen darzustellen und diese Daten zu Auswertungen und Vergleichen zu verwenden.

Die Speicherung der Daten erfolgt in einer Datei- struktur (Ringspeicher) auf den Servern; Samplerate und Aufbewahrungsdauer sind für jeden Messwert konfigurierbar.

Verwendete Werkzeuge:

  • Verteiltes Computersystem auf virtualisierte VM-Ware Server unter Windows 2003 Server.
  • Webserver
  • Applikationsserver
  • Diverse OPC-Server
  • Hardware im Produktionsumfeld als Web-Clients

Vorteile:

  • Zustand einer Produktionslinie oder gesamter Bereiche auf einen Blick
  • Generierung von Kennzahlen für Aufträge
  • Auswertungen für Linienauslastung / Stillstände / Störungen / MTTR / MTBF…
  • Pharmazeutische Linienkennzeichnung
  • Optimierung der Produktionsanlagen => Effizienzsteigerung
  • Minimierung von Anlagenstillständen => Steigerung der Auslastung
  • Analyse von Produktionsprozessen und nachträglicher Vergleich mittels Trendmanagement
  • Alarmierung bei Grenzwertverletzungen
  • Hard- und Software zentralisiert im Rechenzentrum, keine Schnittstellen und Gateways
  • Erweiterbares Konzept (Modulares System mit standardisierten Schnittstellen)